LAST STOP: THE FAREBOX’S CODA

IMG_1567My Name is Michael Kalustian. For  the last 23 years I’ve turned the wheel of an MTA/RTD bus. The story of my city has unfolded in my windshield before my eyes.  I have seen petty and trite acts of hate & violence and also epic feats of kindness and generosity. Each and  every time I’ve opened my doors to board the next  passenger I’ve learned something new about humanity.  I’ve  driven countless miles, encountering unforeseen barriers and tried to deal with them the best that I could. I’ve never met a person whom looked, smelled, talked different than I that I couldn’t relate too, after all we are all just trying to get where we want to go.  My bus has rolled thru every corner of the city from the valley to downtown and westside to East L.A. and here is what I’ve learned, we are all the same. Rich, poor, white, black, brown, yellow, male, or female, we all want the same thing, the chance to make it. It pisses me off we try to marginalize each other to get what we want.

This blog has been my story and I’ve made it a point to not be the hero of my story. I, like every other public service employee, was just trying to make it through the day. If that meant being kind or callous so be it. For the most part I tried to be human in a job that strips you of your humanity. Right and wrong was never clear and clean cut because those notions never are in real life. I leave this job  proud of only a few things. First, I’m proud that I only had one chargeable accident in 23 years and no chargeable accident in the last 21 years. Secondly, as a union officer I kept my integrity intact while serving my office.  In the end I did my job, and did it well. I’m also proud of this blog.

My reason for starting  the Farebox was as a foci for my attention, a way to pass the time until I could retire. My goal in writing this blog was  to share with you what it’s like to drive public transportation in Los Angeles. The result, I think, is a solid ethnography of a bus driver. My one rule was to never censor the truth. I shared the good and bad times. I showed successes and failures. All while serving management who largely hates us union drivers and driving a public to whom we are invisible.  Until now I’ve never revealed my identity, I was afraid the MTA would make me stop. As of Dec 4, 2013 the MTA no longer holds any power over me, I’ve retired, I’ve made it. I’ve done my duty and my family will be better off  for it.

Family is the most important thing.  Daniel, Andrew, and Mia, my kids, if your reading  this then it must be sometime in the future from when I wrote the Farebox. These experiences may seem foreign to you but I assure you that these are my experiences and I did them all for you. Reading this blog I hope you understand that often a parent has  to do what they have  to do for their  family instead of what they want to do. Don’t feel bad,because I don’t. I would do it all over again. The moment each of you were born you all became the most important thing in my life. I love you so much.

Lastly to my wife Lynn. You alone have been witness to my pain and sacrifice. Many times you have paid  a greater price than I for this Job. Thank  you for helping me in the rough times and being on this journey with me, I love you.

This is my last post. With it the Farebox moves from an active blog to a historical account. All in all there  have been 10’s of  thousands of  views from 73 different countries. Thank you  for reading. I never  imagined so many people would or could be interested in what I have to say. It would be impossible to express how much this blog has meant  to me, suffice to say “it saved  me.”  I’ve officially retired  from Los Angeles Metro. I will start teaching  more classes in 2014. Wherever  my journey takes  me I will go  with the these experiences in tow. I wish you well in all your journeys, be safe.

Peace and love.

Mike Kalustian


2 responses to “LAST STOP: THE FAREBOX’S CODA”

Leave a comment